COST Action CA17132 - APPLY
European Network for Argumentation and Public Policy Analysis

COST Action      Horizon 2020

Working Groups

WG1: Empirical Study of Public Argumentation

The primary objective of WG1 is argumentative analysis of EU documents and procedures, the media, and citizens’ discourse. This group includes linguists, discourse analysts, communication scholars, social psychologists, political scholars and other social scientists who contribute to a corpus based on data collected in past and ongoing individual research projects. The corpus includes structured face-to-face interviews, online and social media discussions, EU-documents and procedural guidelines, media reports, and citizens’ discourse.

Data collection, curation, and analysis covers a local, national, and European level. This corpus is collected with the goal of facilitating qualitative and quantitative analyses of arguments pro or con specific policies at the micro-level (argument type), the meso-level of argumentative patterns typical for decision-making, and the macro-level of argumentative procedures that reflect institutional conventions and design. This will generate an annotated database across European languages.

NameE-mailUniversityCountry
Sara Grecosara.greco@usi.chUSI LuganoCH
Barbara de Cockbarbara.decock@uclouvain.beUC LouvainBE
Martin Reisiglmartin.reisigl@univie.ac.atU. ViennaAT
Andrea Sabine Sedlaczekandrea.sabine.sedlaczek@univie.ac.atU. ViennaAT
Pieter Maeseelepieter.maeseele@gmail.comU. AntwerpBE
Sandrine Roginskysandrine.roginsky@uclouvain.beUC LouvainBE
Danijela Majstorovicdanijela.majstorovic@flf.unibl.orgU. Banja LukaBH
Lilia Raychevalraycheva@yahoo.comSt. Kliment OhridskyBL
Gabrijela Kišičekgkisicek@ffzg.hrU. ZagrebHR
Sten Hanssonsten.hansson@ut.eeU. TartuEE
Marianne Dourymarianne.doury@parisnanterre.frU. Paris NanterreFR
Gabór Zemplénzemplen@gti.elte.huBudapest University of Technology and EconomicsHU
Ayelet Baram-Tsabariayelet@technion.ac.ilIsrael Institute of TechnologyIL
Gordon Sammutgordon.sammut@um.edu.mtU. MaltaMT
Luke Buhagiarluke.buhagiar@um.edu.mtU. MaltaMT
Henrike JansenH.Jansen@hum.leidenuniv.nlU. LeidenNL
Jos Hornikxj.hornikx@let.ru.nlU. Radboud NijmegenNL
Corina AndoneC.Andone@uva.nlU. Amsterdam (UvA)NL
Kjersti Fløttumkjersti.flottum@uib.noU. BergenNO
Anje Müller Gjesdalanje.m.gjesdal@hiof.noØstfold University CollegeNO
Agnieszka Kampkaagnieszka_kampka@sggw.plWarsaw University of Life SciencesPL
Paula Castropaula.castro@iscte.ptISCTE LisbonPT
Mehmet Ali Uzelgunuzelgun@fcsh.unl.ptU. Nova de LisboaPT
Ana Margarida Barretoambarreto@fcsh.unl.ptU. Nova de LisboaPT
Marisa Torres da Silvamarisatorresilva@hotmail.comU. Nova de LisboaPT
Irina Diana Madroaneirina.madroane@e-uvt.roWest University of TimisoaraRO
Sorina Postoleasorina.postolea@uaic.roU. of IasiRO
Jelena Kleutjelena.kleut@ff.uns.ac.rsU. Novi SadSB
Ana Milojevicana.milojevic@fpn.bg.ac.rsU. BelgradeSB
Önder Küçükuralokucukural@gmail.comU. Ibn HaldunTR
Rudi Palmieripalmieri@liv.ac.ukU. LiverpoolUK
Isabela Faircloughifairclough@uclan.ac.ukU. Central LancashireUK
Jiayi Wangjwang11@uclan.ac.ukU. Central LancashireUK
Anders Olof Larssonandersolof.larsson@kristiania.noKristiania University CollegeNO
Assimakis Tseronisassimakis.tseronis@oru.seÖrebro UniversitetSE
Ayelet Baram-Tsabariayelet@technion.ac.ilIsrael Institute of TechnologyIL
Rubén Tamboleo Garcíatamboleo@cps.ucm.esU. Complutense MadridES
Serghei Sprinceansprinceans@yahoo.comInstitute of Legal, Political and Sociological ResearchMD
Tanja Vuckovic Jurostanja.vuckovic@uclouvain.beUC LouvainBE
Guido Traficanteguido.traficante@unier.itU. Europea di RomaIT
Peter Stücheli-Herlachstue@zhaw.chZHAW Zurich University of Applied SciencesCH
Marie Gelangmarie.gelang@oru.seÖrebro UniversitetSL
Jérôme Jacquinjerome.jacquin@unil.chU. of LausanneCH
Dimitris Serafisdimitrios.serafis@usi.chU. Svizzera ItalianaCH
Stojanov Tomislavtstojan@gmail.comInstitute of Croatian Language and LinguisticsHR
Nikolic Davordnikoli@ffzg.hrU. ZagrebHR
Sara Cigadasara.cigada@unicatt.itCatholic University of MilanIT
Ewa Modrzejewskae.modrzejewska@uw.edu.plU. WarsawPL
Elena Vasiliuposticaelena@gmail.comU. Iasi Alexandru Ioan CuzaRO