COST Action CA17132 - APPLY
European Network for Argumentation and Public Policy Analysis

COST Action      Horizon 2020

Working Groups

WG2: Norms of Public Argument: Concepts and Methods

The primary objective is a normative investigation of concepts and methods to measure the quality of arguments in public policies. Public arguments, as they are understood in WG2, are arguments that concern items of national or international policy or law making, and agents communicate such arguments in the public sphere. This WG involves philosophers, legal and political theorists, as well as linguists and other scholars who investigate public arguments from a variety of theoretical viewpoints.

WG2 specifically engages with the kinds of normativity that characterize public arguments. The group’s task is to develop a catalogue of concepts of public argument, of the kinds of normativity pertinent to the evaluation of public arguments, and of the methods for studying them. We do this in close collaboration with colleagues in WG1, who develop tools for the empirical study of public argument, and in WG3, who develop tools for the application of argumentation theories in argument design.

NameE-mailUniversityCountry
Frank ZenkerFrank.Zenker@fil.lu.se LundSE
Jan Albert van Laarj.a.van.laar@rug.nl GroningenNL
Christopher Tindalectindale@uwindsor.caWindsorCA
Tvrtko Jolićtvrtko@ifzg.hrZagrebHR
Lisa Storm Villadsenlisas@hum.ku.dkCopenhagenDK
Mette Bengtssonbengtsson@ruc.dkRoskildeDK
Juho Ritolajuho.ritola@utu.fi TurkuFI
Juha Räikkäjraikka@utu.fiTurkuFI
Isidora Stojanovicisidora.stojanovic.nicod@gmail.comInstitute Jean NicodFR
Gregor Betzgregor.betz@kit.eduKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyDE
Istvan Dankadanka.istvan@gtk.uni-neumann.huJohn von Neumann UniversityHU
Maeve CookeMaeve.Cooke@ucd.ieUniversity College DublinIR
Karim Sadekkarim.sadek@ucd.ieUniversity College DublinIR
Christoph Lumerlumer@unisi.itSienaIT
Ori Aronsonori.aronson@biu.ac.ilBar-IlanIL
Danutė Adomavičiūtėadomaviciute.d@gmail.comMykolas Romeris, VilniusLT
Jean WagemansJ.H.M.Wagemans@uva.nl Amsterdam (UvA)NL
Catarina Dutilh Novaesc.dutilhnovaes@vu.nlFree Amsterdam (VU)NL
Mariusz Urbańskimurbansk@gmail.comAdam Mickiewicz University, PoznańPL
Paweł Jabłońskipawel.jablonski@uwr.edu.plWrocławPL
Paweł Łupkowskipawel.lupkowski@gmail.comAdam Mickiewicz University, PoznańPL
Maciej Pichlakmaciej.pichlak@uwr.edu.plWrocławPL
Maciej WitekMaciej.Witek@usz.edu.plSzczecinPL
Marcin Lewińskim.lewinski@fcsh.unl.ptUniversidade Nova de LisboaPT
Dima Mohammedd.mohammed@fcsh.unl.ptUniversidade Nova de LisboaPT
Erich Rasterich@snafu.deUniversidade Nova de LisboaPT
Pedro Abreupedroabreu@fcsh.unl.ptUniversidade Nova de LisboaPT
Javier Gonzalez de Prado Salasjgonzalezdeprado@gmail.comUniversidade Nova de Lisboa / UNED MadridPT / ES
Anca Gataanca.gata@ugal.ro Dunarea de Jos University of GalatiRO
Lilian Bermejo-Luquelilian.bermejoluque@gmail.comGranadaES
Javier Rodríguez-Alcázarfrodguez@ugr.esGranadaES
Steve Oswaldsteve.oswald@unifr.chFribourgCH
Thierry HermanThierry.Herman@unine.chNeuchâtelCH

COST Action          Horizon 2020

COST

COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) is a funding agency for research and innovation networks. Our Actions help connect research initiatives across Europe and enable scientists to grow their ideas by sharing them with their peers. This boosts their research, career and innovation.

www.cost.eu

COST Action CA17132

Providing and criticising reasons is indispensable to achieve sound public policy that commands the support of both citizens and stakeholders. This need is now widely acknowledged in the recent literature and key EU documents, which highlight the perils of populist discourse and policies.

Action Contacts

Andreia Zorrinho - Grant Manager [CA 17132]
NOVA - FCSH | Avenida de Berna, 26 C
1069-061 Lisboa - Portugal
Tel: +351 217 908 300 # 1587
andreia.zorrinho@fcsh.unl.pt

© 2019 APPLY - All rights reserved. Privacy Policy

Design by Boutik