COST Action CA17132 - APPLY
European Network for Argumentation and Public Policy Analysis

COST Action      Horizon 2020

Working Groups

WG2: Norms of Public Argument: Concepts and Methods

The primary objective is a normative investigation of concepts and methods to measure the quality of arguments in public policies. Public arguments, as they are understood in WG2, are arguments that concern items of national or international policy or law making, and agents communicate such arguments in the public sphere. This WG involves philosophers, legal and political theorists, as well as linguists and other scholars who investigate public arguments from a variety of theoretical viewpoints.

WG2 specifically engages with the kinds of normativity that characterize public arguments. The group’s task is to develop a catalogue of concepts of public argument, of the kinds of normativity pertinent to the evaluation of public arguments, and of the methods for studying them. We do this in close collaboration with colleagues in WG1, who develop tools for the empirical study of public argument, and in WG3, who develop tools for the application of argumentation theories in argument design.

NameE-mailUniversityCountry
Frank Zenkerfrank.zenker@fil.lu.seU. LundSE
Jan Albert van Laarj.a.van.laar@rug.nlU. GroningenNL
Christopher Tindalectindale@uwindsor.caU. WindsorCA
Tvrtko Jolićtvrtko@ifzg.hrU. ZagrebHR
Lisa Storm Villadsenlisas@hum.ku.dkU. CopenhagenDK
Mette Bengtssonbengtsson@ruc.dkU. RoskildeDK
Juho Ritolajuho.ritola@utu.fiU. TurkuFI
Juha Räikkäjraikka@utu.fiU. TurkuFI
Isidora Stojanovicisidora.stojanovic.nicod@gmail.comInstitute Jean NicodFR
Gregor Betzgregor.betz@kit.eduKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyDE
Istvan Dankadanka.istvan@gtk.uni-neumann.huJohn von Neumann UniversityHU
Maeve Cookemaeve.cooke@ucd.ieU. College DublinIR
Karim Sadekkarim.sadek@ucd.ieU. College DublinIR
Christoph Lumerlumer@unisi.itU. SienaIT
Ori Aronsonori.aronson@biu.ac.ilU. Bar-IlanIL
Danutė Adomavičiūtėadomaviciute.d@gmail.comU. Mykolas RomerisLT
Jean WagemansJ.H.M.Wagemans@uva.nlU. Amsterdam (UvA)NL
Catarina Dutilh Novaesc.dutilhnovaes@vu.nlFree Amsterdam (VU)NL
Mariusz Urbańskimurbansk@gmail.comAdam Mickiewicz UniversityPL
Paweł Jabłońskipawel.jablonski@uwr.edu.plU. WrocławPL
Paweł Łupkowskipawel.lupkowski@gmail.comAdam Mickiewicz UniversityPL
Maciej Pichlakmaciej.pichlak@uwr.edu.plU. WrocławPL
Maciej Witekmaciej.witek@usz.edu.plU. SzczecinPL
Marcin Lewińskim.lewinski@fcsh.unl.ptU. Nova de LisboaPT
Dima Mohammedd.mohammed@fcsh.unl.ptU. Nova de LisboaPT
Erich Rasterich@snafu.deU. Nova de LisboaPT
Pedro Abreupedroabreu@fcsh.unl.ptU. Nova de LisboaPT
Javier Gonzalez de Prado Salasjgonzalezdeprado@gmail.comU. Nova de Lisboa / UNED MadridPT / ES
Anca Gataanca.gata@ugal.roU. GalatiRO
Lilian Bermejo-Luquelilian.bermejoluque@gmail.comU. GranadaES
Javier Rodríguez-Alcázarfrodguez@ugr.esU. GranadaES
Steve Oswaldsteve.oswald@unifr.chU. FribourgCH
Thierry Hermanthierry.herman@unine.chU. NeuchâtelCH
David Laniusdavid.lanius@kit.eduKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyDE
Davide Grossi d.grossi@rug.nlU. GroningenNL
Federico Puppofederico.puppo@unitn.itU. TrentoIT
Milos Taligamilos.taliga@umb.skU. Matej BelSK
Harald Wohlrappharald.wohlrapp@uni-hamburg.deU. HamburgDE
Alexandru Carlanalex.carlan@comunicare.roNational School for Administration and Political StudiesRO
Michael Morraumichael.morreau@uit.noTromsoe UniversityNO
Sophia Hatzisavvidous.hatzisavvidou@bath.ac.ukU. BathUK
George Bondorbondor@uaic.roU. Iasi Alexandru Ioan CuzaRO
Petar Bodlovićp.bodlovic@rug.nlU. GroningenNL
Léa Farinelea.farine@unine.chU. NeuchâtelCH
Diego Castro Amenabard.r.castro.amenabar@rug.nlU. GroningenNL
Blake Scottblake.scott@kuleuven.beKU LeuvenBE